Groovy baby!

I’m nostalgic.

It’s a blessing and at times longing for what was can be a burden but every once in a while, it’s great to look back.

When I told my photographer friend about the idea I had for the winter shoot in collaboration with FBO Clothing, he immediately knew where to go for us to pull off my 70s winter fashion shoot.

When we arrived at his childhood home in Daveyton, I knew we were going to create some nostalgic magic. I roped in TRU and their amazing range of their soon-to-launched wigs and I was ready to take it back to one of my favourite decades.

Winter is a difficult season for me because although it’s my favourite time of the year, the fashion can be cumbersome and in turn unbecoming, I love the layering but each year I end up looking more like a bag lady than a diva. 

I really wish I’d made a better choice for my bottom for this look I rocked at a recent networking event; I’d also be serving chic like my friend Margaret.

Dressing up for events in winter can be challenging (see above). I had to make things right so I paired this sequin ensemble (H&M MAMA top and Jane Norman skirt) with stockings from Donna, wedges from TORRID and a curly wig from TRU. Naturally you’ll throw your cute coat over the look before you leave the house and the upside about the wig is that you don’t need a hat to keep your ears warm.




The maxi dress is summer’s blessing to winter. It’s one of the items we don’t have to pack away once the cold winds start blowing. Like I mentioned in my Last daze of summer post, I love idea of pairing heels with socks or in this case stockings. This H&M floral maxi is perfect with my Call It Spring cork platforms. I know my thrifted bead purse is from two decades before the 70s but if you’re going to walk down memory lane, might as well wonder right? I finished off the look with the amazing headpiece from YATO Jewellery Studio. 



I think my attraction to the 70s is all this sequin and hair. Winter needn’t be dull and this fun H&M sequin mini speaks to that. I’ve paired it with a pair of stockings from City Chic and with my trusty Woolworths denim jacket over the shoulders and Zara box clutch in tow I’m ready to dance the night away in my TORRID wedges. This TRU wig was hard to part with – I’ve named it Pinky and hope to be rocking my very own soon.




It’s funny to think that I’ve only been wearing pants and jeans for five years – I honestly didn’t think they looked good on me but I eventually gave in to a pair and haven’t looked back. My sister got me these bootleg jeans from GAP a few years ago and I finally have a chance to rock them.
For this look, I paired them with the platforms and stockings combo as well as this crossover strap Zara top. The top is so cute and the first Zara item that I found in FBO that fits me. The earrings are from my upcoming Spring/Summer range. I added the thrifted clutch to match the heels.




Next up with the jeans is a cute grey sweater from FBO. I accessorised with my old MR Price feather earrings, bright pink crossbody bag I picked up at market in South Korea ages ago, my YATO headpiece and white and gold Call It Spring wedges. 




I love yellow in every shade and mustard is no exception. I must admit I wasn’t sold when the team at FBO pulled this top from the rack of goodies for this shoot but it’s definitely going to be a staple in my wardrobe. My thrifted bag collection is ever growing and I seem to have luck in finding them in a variety of colours and textures. The headpiece and neckpiece from YATO pulls this look together perfectly. 





The second Zara find to fit me is this this slouch t-shirt with zip detail. It’s a simple but edgy look with a touch of badass. I added my Woolworths jacket with stud details, Zara box clutch, TORRID wedges and stole the photographer’s shades to finish off the look.




This year I summoned the fashion powers of Chaka Khan, Diana Ross and Donna Summer and will confidently get through winter in style.

Leave a Reply

