Work and play! 

I left the office life two years ago but I remember the struggle of looking professional, cute and staying warm during winter.

Knitwear is a fun addition to the wardrobe and it can be dressed up to give you a more office appropriate look. 

FBO Clothing has given me a few items from their newly unpacked winter range and I’ve put together some looks that will hopefully inspire you to slay in the boardroom.

The key to any wardrobe is investing in staple pieces with a higher price tag so they move not only from season to season but stay with you over the years. Most of the items I’ve styled with the knits from FBO Clothing are well over 5 years old but I can still rock them and will keep doing so for a long time. 

Fridays were my favourite days at the office, I loved that I could dress down and be able to put together a look that can go straight into the weekend. 

THE LOOK: Striped jersey, FBO Clothing; Boyfriend jeans, TORRID; Patent brogues, Melton jacket and Hat, Woolworths; Socks, Cotton On; Drawstring bag, Trenery; Zuzi earrings, icherryefresh

I was barely in the corporate space but I’ve noticed over the years that fashion is starting to loosen up and making way for a more relaxed look in some offices. 

I’m a creative so I’ll never go fully power suit but I think I’d be taken seriously in this ensemble. 

THE LOOK: Striped batwing jersey, FBO Clothing; Leggings with pleather detail, Donna; Black and White pointy wedges, Melton jacket and Bag, Trenery; Shades, Woolworths, Neckpiece, YATO Jewellery Studio and Wig, TRU 

Office wear doesn’t have to be boring and glitter makes everything fun. Who says you cannot sparkle in the office?

THE LOOK: Silver jersey, FBO Clothing; Pencil skirt and Bag, Trenery; Peep toe heel and Parka, Woolworths; Wig, TRU and neckpiece; from my mama 

The jersey under my pleather skater skirt is asymmetrical – I’m not a fan of this hemline so I opted to hide it under a skirt. I added a headwrap and beaded accessories because after all, I’m a working woman in Africa. 

THE LOOK: Asymmetrical jersey, FBO Clothing; Pleather skirt and Stockings, City Chic; Black and White pointy wedges and Bag, Trenery; Melton jacket, Woolworths; Indoni choker and Nefertiti earrings, icherryefresh and headwrap from my personal collection

I’m told black is slimming but the reason I love it is because of the canvas it creates for a look. I can add my accessories without feeling like it’s overdone. 

THE LOOK: Black V-neck  jersey, FBO Clothing; Pencil skirt and Melton jacket, Woolworths; Black and White pointy wedges, Trenery; headwrap, neckpieces, earrings, bag and bangles from my personal collection

Even though I haven’t been in an office environment in a while, I occasionally dust off the blazers and pencil skirts and amaze people and myself. Winter clothing can be bulky but with some planning, your looks can still be simple but still striking.

Leave a Reply

