Adjust your crown queen 

The last three months have been quite a rollercoaster – between having my car stolen, getting older and general adulting ups and downs, I’m glad to welcome in a new month. 

Here in Mzansi we celebrate women throughout August. This is because on August 9, we commemorate and celebrate the thousands of South African women who, in 1956, staged a march on the Union Buildings in Pretoria to protest against the proposed amendments to the Urban Areas Act.

What history reminds us with this march is the power in the unity of women. The 1956 march was a success which saw women from as far as the Eastern and Western Cape travel to Gauteng to join in. Women from all walks of life came together in solidarity to stand in defiance of yet another law which would further undermine their dignity.

Seeing the images from the march especially the iconic image of Rahima Moosa, Lilian Ngoyi, Helen Joseph, and Sophie Williams always does the rounds on social media when August 9 comes around and all I kept thinking to myself (without any attempts to undermine the cause) when I see the photo is: “if I only I was half as stylish as these women, even at a protest, they manage to look like absolute queens”

And so in celebration of queens throughout August, I’ve partnered with 50 Shades of Duku, a step-by-step doek tutorial book by Ofentse Tsipa, as well as my friends at TRU to share a 30-Day celebration of the doek. I’ve selected 30 doek styles from Ofentse’s book and will be bringing you one style each day with a special doek for the 31st! 

Each Wednesday I’ll be posting my doek #WCW and on Fridays I’ll share my favourite style with a step-by-step guide from the book. 

Thanks to the generous folks at TRU as well as 50 Shades of Duku author, Ofentse Tsipa, I have a hamper consisting of: a signed copy of the book, a doek from TRU and as well as icherryefresh accessories. In order to stand a chance to win this hamper worth over R500, tag @icherryefresh, @truthepopup and @50shadesofduku in your doek selfie – the more selfies you post and tag us, the higher your chances of winning. Competition open to followers in SA only. Winner will be notified and announced on September 1. 

Leave a Reply

